Save A Dive

Nothing upsets divers more then a dive called due to avoidable faulty equipment. Equipment gremlins come part and parcel with diving, the little buggers are very effective at throwing a spanner in the works.

In this post I wanted the discuss our saviour in these events, the loyal and trusted ‘Save a Dive’ kit. Now as in most things in life the size and comprehensiveness of these range from a an old rusty spanner, to tool boxes with so much stuff you could build any piece of equipment from Scratch.

In this blog I am going to share mine and its contents with you. Now tools are useless on their own without the knowledge to go with them. There are a number of courses out their around equipment care and servicing, at the bottom you have the ones basically re teach you how to wash your kit to the ones that will teach how to fully service a regulator.

Case: Ideally you want something to store every thing in altogether so nothing gets left behind. To make things easy at the dive site, it should also allow easy organisation of its contents. I managed to find this slightly larger then A4 size tool folder online.

Instructions: These can be a big help, when trying to resolve a problem. Exploded parts diagrams give you the ability to understand where the possible issue and how big or complex the job is going to be. I have considered doing laminates of my instructions but have yet to get round to it. To cut down on size only take copies of the parts you need.

Service Kits: In the UK these are a little harder to come by as they are generally not sold to the public, however they can be found online. Even if you don’t service your own kit (I will do another blog post on that another day) it is still a wise idea to carry a couple of sets of spares. You will find some dive shops / centres may be qualified to service your kit, but might not have any in stock meaning a 3 or 4 day turn around, ruining your dive holiday/trip. (Keep them in original packaging so the centre knows it is the right ones otherwise they may refuse to use the parts, some may refuse anyway). Also consider service kits for any dry suit valves and BCDs/Wings you have.

O-rings, Inflator hose valves and Pressure gauge spindles: Don’t rely on new O-rings being perfect The number of air leaks I have seen due to either a faulty / damaged newly fitted O-rings. Ensure you have a reasonable supply and learn how to change the simple ones.

Blanking Plugs and adaptors: Now I have fairly standardised kit so apart from a spare elbow for my 2nd stage, but carry these to get a buddy or friend out of dodge. There is also a chance I might have a hose go and the only alternative is an odd size.

Tools: Selection of common tools, wrenches, socket set, pliers, O-rings picks. With some special tools dropped in for good measure; Inflation Valve Tool and Inline Adjustment.

Attached is more comprehensive list that I use as a handout for equipment care courses I run. Equipement Care Handout

There a few other additions that people may consider including in a ‘Save A Dive Kit’
Spare Batteries for Torches and Computers
Straps for Mask and Fins
Hoses (I normally throw in one of my other  regulator set configurations that I could butcher if needed.

With my own Save A Dive kit and knowledge, I can confidently repair 90 to 95 percent of any equipment failures I will have with any of my own kit.

I hope you have found this useful, and as always would love to hear what over divers carry.

G-SAV

Leave a comment