My GOOD Bag (Get Out Of Dodge)

DSC_0089So as I have been putting together this blog, there have been some interesting debates/posts happening on various forums about what accessories Divers carry and why. Sometimes the hardest question is not ‘what to take’, it is ‘where to store it’. Normally for most recreational the answer is shoulder/chest D-rings or in BCD Pockets. Here in the UK many divers wear dry suits, which sometimes have the added benefit of thigh pockets. In this post I am going to cover off what I carry in my GOOD bag. I am starting to put together a blog on storage options. As per previous posts, these are my views and opinions and as always keen to understand what other people carry and why.

Clips: I carry a spare double ender (technically I have few available as the pouch connects to my harness by 2 on the outside, I also have one each for back up mask and dsmb). These are great for carry equipment such as Mask and Fins while moving about on land. I also carry a quick release, this allows me to clip any hoses off if their own clip fails. Please see my previous blog here about clips:
https://grahamsavill.wordpress.com/choosing-the-right-clips-could-save-your-life

Spare Mask: Out of all the things, a diver should carry for back up, this should be top of the list and carried by all. Most diving incidents have multiple solutions and work arounds if the diver works the problem. However the loss of the ability to see because of a broken mask only has one solution. It is also one of those problems that will have multiple knock on effects and could lead to further issues and problems relatively easily. Reduced ability to communicate, monitoring of gauges, maintaining accent rates or stops, managing equipment and so on. I personally have never had a mask fail, but have provided my spare to various buddys due to their own masks failing. I was teaching once when an experienced diver pointed out they never carried a spare as never had a problem, the following week their mask broke in the pool. One thing to remember is keep it clean/defogged! One time I donated mine to a buddy for them to put it on and for it to instantly fog up.

eplb

Dive VHF/Personal Location Beacon: These are great and ensure you have a greater chance of being rescued if lost at sea. I am sure most readers here would have read articles about lost divers, and they happen all over the world. It’s also not just boats forgetting people, its just as likely to be caught in a current or tide, sea state to change, a fog to come in or the boat breaking down. I personally have the Nautilus Lifeline which is a Marine VHF Radio GPS, with a distress beacon built in, which will send out your coordinates. Now there are laws in some of countries around operating VHF radios, however everywhere allows the use of VHF in an emergency. So if you want to use it to get your drinks order in while waiting to be picked up you might want to look at doing a course. I have so far used this once in sort of anger, my DSMB got tangled and had to let it go. I had left my back up on the boat as it was only a 10m dive about 1000m offshore. Anyway when we surfaced the boat was exactly where I thought it was going to be, sat near my DSMB waiting for us to surface. Quick radio call to tell my Dad to look round was all it took. I also have this on shore dives, knowing I could surface, radio the coast guard to arrange an ambulance as I make my way to shore/safety.

DSC_0091

Wet Notes: These are great for diving and communicating with other divers. I have added some additions to mine. Inside the front I have my emergency details, Name, DOB, Contacts, Blood Types, Meds, Allergies. I also have instructions on how to use my Radio as I could be unconscious and it will be down to my buddy. I cover this off in the Dive brief / buddy checks.

DSC_0092 In the back I store some laminated deco tables, fish ID, and a plastic signalling mirror.

DSC_0090On the back I made up a small grid of words which I find useful with less experienced divers who only know a few hand signals. I have also tried to keep it fun such as being able to say ‘this is crap’ or a special one ‘Diiiiiiick’ which I put in their for one of my buddy’s who likes to do less then intelligent things, such as sticking his hands in holes looking for treasure….

Cable Ties: Similar to duct tape, there are all sorts of things that can be repaired / temporary fixed with cable ties; broken clips, fin straps, mask straps, BCD clips, the list goes on.

Spare Mouth Piece: Hopefully any mouth piece issues would have been picked up in the Regulator checks. However splits and tears can easily happen underwater. I have known divers to put up with the issue rather then call the dive, which is adding a huge risk in my opinion. If they suddenly have to deal with an emergency and their breathing rate picks up, there is a higher chance of breathing in water. The spare takes no space and can swapped underwater in a couple of minutes.
https://grahamsavill.wordpress.com/regulator-pre-dive-checks/) 

Whistle: While having the VHF Radio is great, I would not put all my trust into an electronic device, so having a back up signalling device is a must in my view. There might be sites, such as a quarry or beach where a whistle we easily get the attention you need to summon assistance.

Back Up Spool and Mini DSMB: If you speak to divers, it seems reels and DSMBs are the probably most common lost items on a dive. Just recently on a boat dive a buddy pair lost both their primary DSMBs due to the current and them becoming entangled on fishing nets. You will notice, I have the amount of line written on the side of my reels, as when you own a few, its difficult to remember how much exactly is on each one. For example this one is 27m, so would be no good sending up from the bottom from 30m.

Back Up Torch: This one pretty much self explanatory, as with DSMBs being the most common lost item, torches seem to be the most common equipment to fail, with bulbs going, batteries dying, flooding. In addition its a great signalling device while on the surface on dusk and night dives. I also find having one useful when diving with a new buddy especially when less experience, as you tend to find they like to follow, so normally slip back behind up. In giving them a torch to use, it helps you to track where they are by keeping an eye on the beam.

tool

Multi-tool: This is Best Divers multi tool, another awesome little accessory, I only have the cross version which has Hex Keys on the end, and fits most Regulators (Can be tricky getting to some hoses). This is ideal for dealing with those loose hoses or tightening blanking plugs.

All this goes into my sidemount pouch and clips onto the bottom of my harness and comes with me on nearly every dive (backmount and sidemount). If you are wondering about cutting tools, please check out my previous blog:
https://grahamsavill.wordpress.com/cutting-tools-choosing-the-right-one/

I hope you have enjoyed reading this and have decided to nick some ideas for yourself. Until my next post, happy safe diving…

G-SAV

3 thoughts on “My GOOD Bag (Get Out Of Dodge)”

  1. Hey Graham – Thanks for the very useful information.

    I was just about to purchase the Nautilus Lifeline Marine Rescue GPS when I picked up on the fact this one didn’t confirm radio functionality. I called Nautilus and they confirmed the later version does not include radio functionality due to a redesign requirement caused by changes in US FCC laws. They did say they hope to add into another version sometime in the future.

    Are you aware of a competitively priced equivalent product available today?
    Else I think I’ll go ahead and purchase the Nautilus Marine Rescue GPS without radio functionality as it seems like a must-have no-brainer to me.

    All the best

    Paul

    Like

    1. I know, they stopped it a couple years back. I am not sure why they just didn’t licence it to another country to build and distribute.
      If I didnt have the vhf one, I personally would not go for the new version. I would probably get an ERPB that is satellite linked rather than relying on a ship radio picking up the nautilus. Due this, the range is very limited. There are a number out there as they are very common on yatchs. You just need to get a water proof case for it. I believe CustomDivers do one.
      Good luck.

      Like

Leave a comment